side menu icon

Gold Award


Passionate about an issue and want to make a difference—in a big way? The Girl Scout Gold Award is for you! Open to Girl Scout Seniors (grades 9–10) and Ambassadors (grades 11–12), this is the most prestigious award in Girl Scouts.

This award is difficult to earn, but once you’ve earned it, your rate for success in life and your ability to reach any goal will soar. Colleges, employers, your peers, and your community will see that you have what it takes to get big things done!

Steps to Become a Gold Award Girl Scout

  1. Complete your Silver Award and 1 Senior/Ambassador Journey - OR - 2 Senior/Ambassador Journeys (including the Take Action Projects) to hone the skills you’ll need to earn your Gold Award.
  2. Complete your Gold Award online training with your troop or individually with an adult, no more than six months before submitting your project proposal—this way, all the information is fresh!
  3. Brainstorm to identify an issue you care about—then investigate it thoroughly.
  4. Build your team and find a project advisor.
  5. Create a plan and complete your Gold Award Project Proposal through Go Gold Online and attach your timeline and budget proposal documents.
  6. Our Highest Awards Committee will review your proposal, provide feedback, and work with you to improve your plan.
  7. Once your project is approved, take action to carry out your project!
  8. Reflect on your hard work and turn in your complete your Gold Award Final Report through Go Gold Online for review and approval to officially receive your Girl Scout Gold Award.
  9. Reflect, share your story, and celebrate your work!

Earning the Girl Scout Gold Award involves the time to complete a Journey/Silver Award (step 1), and then a suggested minimum of 80 hours to complete steps 2-9.

Council Approval

Girl Scouts of Northern California's approval is needed prior to beginning your project. Girls wishing to do their Gold Award and who are in twelfth grade need to submit their proposals by May 1 of their graduation year to ensure timely processing and approval of projects before they begin.

Money-Earning for Your Project

If you will be earning more than $100 for your project, be sure to complete the Money-Earning Project Approval Form (PDF). You can find more information on money-earning for Gold Award projects in your award guidelines.

Finding Support

Learn more about Gold Award scholarships, the history of the Gold Award, and the benefits of going Gold from Girl Scouts of the USA. Still have questions? Contact us!

Gold Award Resources


Did you know? Every year, GSUSA selects 10 Gold Award Girl Scouts to be National Gold Award Girl Scouts, representing the best-of-the-best Gold Award projects—GSNorCal has had someone from our Council selected for this honor in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018! Will you be next?